The Technology and “Noise” of Job Search Communication

Aly AnlikerAly Anliker, Ed.M
alyanliker@hotmail.com
503-891-1108

Aly is a creative organizational and career consultant with over fifteen years of experience in Training Management, Executive Coaching and Instructional Design. She has a background in Human Resources and Marketing and has worked in a variety of industries including telecommunications, high technology, manufacturing and non-profit.


The Technology and “Noise” of Job Search Communication

When I think back to as little as five years ago, technology has changed the face of communication and more specifically job search communication.

As I write this, my iPhone is beeping at me to tell me I have a new email message, a colleague is “pinging” me on Office Communicator, a chime sounds in Microsoft Outlook to tell me I have a meeting coming up and my colleague is talking to me over our cube wall.  If you don’t have a way to ping, beep, call, chat, schedule me or talk to me over a cube, you are out of luck because I might have a job lead for you.

Professionally I have three laptops, two that belong to companies I work for, and one that is my own laptop.  I have five email accounts, three professional and two personal.

In our family there are three iPhones alternately pinging and chiming, if their batteries are not dead. There is also a land line that rings once in a blue moon. At any given time of the day, there are at least two phone numbers you can reach me on.  Like many of you, there are a total of five phone numbers that will connect you to me, not including a toll free number for a select group of virtual clients.

I also use the following apps for both professional and social reasons which make various noises and demands I can pay attention to or ignore, Linkedin, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, YouTube and Pandora. There are many others.

If you’re overwhelmed by all the options available to communicate with employers and networking contacts, you are not alone.  Of course you can always hire a career consultant to help you develop your job search and communication strategy, but basically you want to think about your audience and how they might be using technology.  Are they on LinkedIn?  Are you friendly enough to join them on Facebook?  Do they Tweet?

Email is always a good bet and surprisingly, people often share their contact information on sites like Facebook and LinkedIn.  Sometimes you can Google a person and obtain a wealth of information.  This also becomes important when you are preparing for an interview and have your interviewer’s name.

Finally, think about yourself.  How are you reachable?  What does a Google search reveal about you professionally?  Is it time to write an article about a subject you are expert in that could reach potential employers?

Is it time to make a post on Facebook, LinkedIn and\or Twitter about professional activities, research, or information helpful to others? Do you have a video of you that showcases your professional skills?  Is it on You Tube and have you linked your network to that video?

Are you active in your community?  Do people know that?

Basically you want to establish yourself as a resource to others.  Be the one they find when online and be the one they think of. Let your brand help you stay employed. Let your brand enrich your career.

, , , ,

5 Comments on “The Technology and “Noise” of Job Search Communication”

  1. joseph Says:

    Very insightful viewpoint on the role of technology in our daily business and personal lives.

    Reply

  2. nance Says:

    I found your take on the role of technology in job search communications very interesting. The only thing I might add is time management and job search structure. From my p.o.v. we must take breaks from social media and technology. Dare to Disconnect!…….:)

    Reply

  3. Aly Anliker, EdM Says:

    That’s right Nance – thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

  4. Rachelle Says:

    Great post on technology and job search. I love that we have so many ways to communicate. AND at the end of the day, I love that what is most effective STILL is face to face connection. But getting to that point is definitely enhanced by the technology leads. My biggest goal is remember to do both!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

