Being a Career Coach Is Just Like Selling Pantyhose

stockings-428602_1280My first job was in retail, at a large department store.  I hoped to get placed in a department I would enjoy, or at least know something about.  I didn’t.  I was assigned to hosiery.  Disappointed, I accepted the job, needing work experience and the money.

I avoided pantyhose like the plague up until this point (and still do).  I had no interest in helping people choose the restricting garments, nor did I relish pressuring people to buy what was on sale.  I struggled at first – against my resistance to the job and trying to fit my nature into what seemed like a terrible fit for my values and personality.

Eventually, it got easier.  I found my rhythm. When people came in to buy hosiery, I would listen closely to what they wanted.  I’d match up their individualized needs with choices that might work for them, educating them on why these options would be a good fit. I taught customers how to find new choices and old favorites when I wasn’t working.  Finally, I let them know they could always come back and ask me questions, always encouraging them to trust themselves to choose what they thought was best.

I didn’t know it then, but that job was my first genuine expression of who I am at work.  Even though selling hosiery and being a career coach seem like very different roles, there’s a link – or what I call a thread.

Threads are the things about us that don’t change.  Things you do naturally.  Your gifts.  You couldn’t stop doing them if you tried.

One of my threads is listening closely to people, educating them on options and encouraging them to trust themselves to make the right choice.  That has happened in all jobs I’ve had.threadsmulticolor

Retail: Selling pantyhose, posters, greeting cards and theater tickets

Corporate: Consulting internal IT customers on software choices

Non-profit: Supporting college students with disabilities in pursuing internships and jobs

Entrepreneurship: Coaching individuals on their next career step

You have threads too.  We all do.  While identifying them can take time, it can be a helpful exercise no matter what career stage you are in or what kind of role you are pursuing.

Consider these steps when searching for your threads:

  • Self Reflection
    • What have you been most proud of in your work life?  Most frustrated by?
  • Assessment
    • Take an assessment you trust and write about the results – when have you expressed those skills or characteristics?
  • Influential People
    • What are the messages from the work lives of inspirational family members or mentors that have stuck with you?
  • Get Feedback
    • Ask others what they see as your gifts and talents.

Using your threads as a foundation for your career builds confidence.  It simplifies your messaging and creates ease in interviewing. Threads help you understand what questions you need to ask to find out if a particular line of work would be fulfilling.  And threads help you articulate your value in performance reviews.  They help you create fulfilling work wherever you are now, and for the rest of your life.  Try it!

 

Aubrie De Clerck,  PCC CPC
www.coachingforclarity.net
aubrie@coachingforclarity.net
503-810-2907

Aubrie is a Career Development and Transition Coach, with her own private practice in Portland. Her career history spans corporate, non-profit and self employment, giving her wide perspective on the world of work. Aubrie is known for being highly inspirational and deeply practical, helping people open doors to a lifetime of fulfilling work. Most of all, she is passionate about helping people of all ages and phases of life get the most out of their work life.

, , , ,

2 Comments on “Being a Career Coach Is Just Like Selling Pantyhose”

  1. ifimstillunemployedattheendofthisimquitting Says:

    This is such a great comparison! Yes, sometimes finding the right fit is hard work – in hosiery and in careers!

    I like your point about getting feedback. It is always interesting to me when people tell me what they see as my strengths. Sometimes they point out things that I hadn’t even thought of!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

